Will Yoga Save My Life? Day 4 of 30

 

Today was a day off, and oh good gracious am I glad for that! Have you ever had a case of the Mondays? And I am not talking about Garfield here, I am serious, (as much as I know how to be, anyway.) Today may have been Thursday but it sure didn’t act like it.

I almost don’t know where to start! I woke up to an email from my professor saying an assignment from last week never got to her. (insert panic here) Remember yesterday when I talked about the whole, what you hear in the first 20 minutes, thing? Yea well, I think that might be accurate.

So, I scurry to get my assignment turned in to her and she graciously waves the penalty for late work. Had to be some user error on my end and the program we use to turn in assignments just didn’t agree with me or something. Did I mention before I was a college student? I am. Heading for my B.A. in Creative Writing & English with a focus in Fiction.

Anyway, so that started the boulder that was my day. I am sitting down trying to finish an assignment, my fingers speeding away at the keyboard. And I hear one of our furry ferret boys scuttling around. Yep he makes his way into the laundry basket (we have one that looks like the laundry mat carts!) and next I know he’s on the fireplaccoffee-1587078_1920.jpge mantel and he’s heading right for my favorite owl statue.

I figure, finish my sentence, go grab him, right? Wrong! SHATTERED! That’s the condition my statue was in. I lost my temper. Of course, we don’t spank or harm our pets in anyway, I scolded him, had my partner take him to the bed room and after cleaning up…

I sat back down to the computer.

I had an assignment to finish, remember?

Well, I’m pretty sure my computer couldn’t have cared less, because it shut off and didn’t save my work.

…Let my day sink in…

Yeah, it could be worse, it could always be worse.

But really?

Then let the day proceed to me dropping everything in sight, and breaking down into tears. Yeah, I’m man enough to admit that I let my stress get the best of me today.

To the point, my back has barely bugged me all day, just a bit of neck pain – but that neck pain is from sitting in front of a camera all day filming videos for my YouTube, Fantasy & Coffee. I have decided to start pre-filming, so I can be a bit more consistent with my uploads.daily-motivational-quotes-for-success-in-life.jpg

Show up every day. That’s the idea.

I only post twice a week, but videography does take time.

Anyway, I wasn’t the greatest eater today. Coffee, pasta, and pizza. Give me a break, we’re low on groceries and we’re not exactly in the middle class or above. We make it work. But I feel good. After my meltdown, I felt like I was slowly going back to normal. By the end of the night (that’s now) I am feeling so much better, emotionally, than I have in weeks.

My body and pain levels have been really good. It’s definitely a positive when my back isn’t trying to make me feel like I’m dying. I think the yoga stretches have helped in that regard.

It’s only been four days, but I haven’t seen any downfalls so far. I will keep you posted on changes, though. I think if anything, this is a great start toward building a healthy lifestyle and a successful life. And going forward, I think that by the end of these 30 days I may surprise myself, who knows, I may even surprise you!

Let’s Connect!

Twitter: @authorsteger

Instagram: @stegerwrites

Writersteger.wordpress.com

YouTube: Fantasy & Coffee, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gczu6OcgcBs

Facebook.com/j.m.steger015

Author: Johannus M. Steger

Johannus M. Steger is a Fantasy & Science Fiction writer with 16 years of practice. He was first published at age 17 with a small press magazine in Canada for his short horror story, “I Can See Her”. In 2005, he won a writer award through DeviantArt for best flash fiction. In 2007, his poetry was published in a d10 role-playing game. In 2017, he was published with two short stories in an Amazon best-selling anthology, Infinite Darkness. He has several publications with Huffington Post. Since then he has traveled through North America, Central America, and lived in Hawaii, with desire to continue traveling. He has a degree in Allied Healthcare Science and is an undergrad at Southern New Hampshire University, Majoring in Creative Writing & English with a focus in Fiction. Currently, Johannus is querying his finished manuscript, Finding Fire, a fantasy novel about a young girl stolen away to another realm. He is also working on Cursed Sands, a Young Adult novel that spins the Disney Pocahontas story on its head and mixes it up, set in a fantasy steampunk secondary world. Johannus lives in Dallas, Texas with his partner and their four ferrets; Toki, Turbo, Jon Snow and Sitka. He has a love for coffee, tea, all things fantasy, and long walks with mean people on short piers…

Leave a Reply

