Will Yoga Save My Life? Day 5 of 30

Today was a good day, I mean productive – Same difference for me.

So, as an up-and-coming YouTuber I have lots to do on that front, script writing, filming, videography, etc. You get me. Another good reason to have yoga in my life, it keeps little things, like the grocery delivery guy being unable to read instructions properly and blaming me for it, from bothering me to death.

Every second of my day, honestly, has been work. Even when I had nausea earlier. I curled up on the couch, back throbbing, muscle spasms ripping through my body… Trash can in front of me, just in case. Even then, I had my tablet out and articles open for SkillShare since I am building a few classes on there.57dedfd4b7348c8055311106cfaf35d0.jpg

I got my 20 minutes of empowering, positive listening done today, did the dishes, made food, the works.

So, let’s get into the hard stuff. This will probably be a short one (no significant change).

Pain LVLS:

Like I mentioned, I was pretty sick today. And since I’ve started Yoga I’ve been noticed issues with my digestive system – so TMI, but I am dealing with that. Most of my sick was due to back pain, which I am dealing right now and have been dealing with all day. However, it’s been a bit less that what I am used too. Though, maybe my threshold has got higher?

Bending in the shower seemed easier than normal. I don’t think I have lost any significant weight yet, but I don’t expect to in only 5 days.

Mental/Emotional Health:

Usually after having a bad day (like yesterday) I sulk in it. Last night, after I posted to you all, I laid in bed and found myself doing my usual anxiety thing (playing the greatest hits of what all I’ve done wrong.) and I told myself, NO, I’m not thinking about the past, let’s think about the future… and I fell asleep.
Today something I heard sang inside me, “Don’t blame yourself for the mistakes you made in the past that you would not make the same choices today, for if you do… you will be convicting and innocent person.” Now, I didn’t catch who it was that said it, so if you know – drop me a comment so I can properly source them.

1a923e58aa9b47f005dad43b66cdcd12.jpg

Seriously though, this just rang and chimed inside my mind. Yes, I am different, I am no longer that person from my youth, so I need to stop dwelling on my mistakes. They only hold me back, and I need to move forward.

So far, the changes I have made to my sleep, eating, listening, activities, etc, my mental and emotional health is amazing. FYI, totally recommend the changes. Healthy living, healthy thinking.

Reflection:

Notice I am getting a bit more organized with these blogs? Bear with me, still new to all this. I’m a fiction writer first and foremost.

Did I mention all the changes I have made? Let’s just go over them real fast:

Wake up every day on time. No excuses.

15-25 minutes of exercise 5 days a week (this is the plan, so far, so good.)

20 minutes of empowering and inspiring listening.

Sticking to a schedule.

Making to-do lists, and crossing things off as I do them.

Making use of every minute of my day, whether it is for learning or doing.

This blog.

7f74c3213c7792475587f70ba4b8b04d.jpg

Things that have resulted from these changes:

Better mood.

Less complaining, less annoyance.

Less pain.

Increased productivity.

Better sleep, better choices.

Lowered anxiety, noticeable decrease in depression.

Happier than I have been in a long time.

I find that I enjoy everything I do just a little bit more.

I am more interactive with people and my family.

I don’t feel like people wanting my attention is a bother.

I have had more backbone when it comes to saying ‘NO’, when I really cannot do something.

I feel way more creative!

 

I have to say these are some great changes and I am only looking forward to things b46a4a77a937df14698c0708966b8ecb.jpggetting even better as I go. This is my stepping stone to success, to a change in my life. I started doing this because I realized I would never be able to get health insurance and the only way I was going to be able to fix my problem was by taking a holistic and mental approach, and so here I am.

 

Looking Toward The Future:

I’m excited for all the changes. I am excited to see what changes come forward, I am excited to someday give you a blog over 1,000 words on the subject! Ha! Right now, this is just about showing the journey and hopefully just maybe my stepping stones to a better me will help those of you reading find a better you.

Even if you aren’t disabled, maybe you’re depressed and stuck in a dead-end job. Maybe… just maybe, Yoga can save your life as well as mine.

 

Finding-Success-In-Life.jpg

If you’re a writer and looking for writing tips (fiction) I highly recommend you come over to my YouTube Channel: Fantasy & Coffee and check out my videos, like & Sub for more of those! And if you know anyone looking to change their life, recommend my blog! We’ve got 25 days to go!

Let’s Chat!

Twitter: @authorsteger
Instagram: @stegerwrites
Writersteger.wordpress.com

YouTube: Fantasy & Coffee: http://bit.ly/2ogJXhr

Fantasy-N-Coffee.Tumblr.com

Facebook.com/j.m.steger015

 

 

Looking for Graphic Design or videography work? Check out Steger Productions: stegerproduction.wixsite.com/design

 

Author: Johannus M. Steger

Johannus M. Steger is a Fantasy & Science Fiction writer with 16 years of practice. He was first published at age 17 with a small press magazine in Canada for his short horror story, “I Can See Her”. In 2005, he won a writer award through DeviantArt for best flash fiction. In 2007, his poetry was published in a d10 role-playing game. In 2017, he was published with two short stories in an Amazon best-selling anthology, Infinite Darkness. He has several publications with Huffington Post. Since then he has traveled through North America, Central America, and lived in Hawaii, with desire to continue traveling. He has a degree in Allied Healthcare Science and is an undergrad at Southern New Hampshire University, Majoring in Creative Writing & English with a focus in Fiction. Currently, Johannus is querying his finished manuscript, Finding Fire, a fantasy novel about a young girl stolen away to another realm. He is also working on Cursed Sands, a Young Adult novel that spins the Disney Pocahontas story on its head and mixes it up, set in a fantasy steampunk secondary world. Johannus lives in Dallas, Texas with his partner and their four ferrets; Toki, Turbo, Jon Snow and Sitka. He has a love for coffee, tea, all things fantasy, and long walks with mean people on short piers…

Leave a Reply

