Will Yoga Save My Life? Day 14 of 30

Day 14.

19 minutes of Yoga, 6 minutes of HIIT Cardio. Plenty of empowered listening.

 

I’m about to get into my bed and fall asleep for the last time this week. My weeks run from Monday to Sunday, I don’t know about you.

The thought on my mind is how terribly saddened I am by people blaming other people for their own mistakes. Even worse so that they do it as a way to make themselves feel better about what they did wrong. It has become a really messed up coping method, and one I used to use myself. It was always someone else’s fault.

It was just a bad time for that.

It was just not the right people.

It was never me.

 

Good morning y’all, smell that coffee.

Seriously.

YOU MESSED UP.

You did it. Just admit it. That what I have started to do, I look in the mirror and I say, “You messed up.”

Talking to me.

Keep in mind, my ass had nothing to do with my disability – I didn’t break me. This is from years of chemotherapy and radiation. But I’d rather be dealing with spinal issues than be dead.

There are things that people come into contact with that isn’t their fault (but that’s more politics and we aren’t getting into that here. This is about other stuff.)

I realized that I was making the wrong choices, and those decisions were putting me in the wrong head space, and the wrong places. So, I chose to start making the right choices – or at least better ones.

A lot of these changes in myself started when I met the man that is now my partner and legally bound significant other. And gradually, he made me a better me. And then I started becoming a better me. Now, I am still working on being the best me, slowly but surely.

It starts with your mindset. STOP BLAMING OTHERS FOR YOUR MISHAPS. That’s driving me crazy. Take care of your own mess ups. I won’t get into detail all the stuff that bugs me, but you get the drift. We all need to make this mental shift – it’s freeing.

I’m super tired, so let’s get this biz done, yea? I have school in the morning and it’s the last two weeks of term and that means, lots of work to do. Oh, and ya know, praying I haven’t totally bombed that final project I turned in Friday. Yeesh.

Okay,

Eating & Exercise

That’s happening. There are some stretches that I am looking at the video and I see it’s possible. But like it isn’t happening. You hear me? It won’t happen! My body is like, nah, keep trying, but nah. Ha! But it’s only been 2 weeks, eh?

I actually cooked today, I had Miso ramen (don’t confuse it with package ramen). Then, for dinner I made my partner and I rice bowls with chicken and veggies. We eat a primarily Asian foods diet because it’s what I am used to from living in Hawaii. It’s also just preference. We eat a lot of different culture foods, but we strive to eat and make them as authentically as we can. I don’t like packaged/boxed foods, not because of anything nefarious, just because it’s often a lot of carbs and salt that I can’t have.

Whatever, you don’t want my explanations, aaaaanyway… I also baked cookies and had some milk. Mostly today I drank water and one single cup of a coffee (which if you know me, is a shockingly small amount.)

So, a successful day indeed.

My Pain Levels

I’m stiff, but the yoga helps a LOT with my back pain. I think the mild scoliosis is some of my issue on some of the crazy stretches but I am not sure, nor am I a medical doctor to be able to tell myself for sure.

My migraine from yesterday is lesser today, but still kicking my ass and dragging me through the fields with it.

Emotional and Mental Health

I’m good. Today was good. No noticeable changes to report, I feel less likely to throw my cat outside even though he is a tiny demon with fur. That’s a plus. Also, my cat is like one of the cats from hell on that show, but whenever anyone aside from family is over he becomes a perfect angel, so I can never prove it. He does this on purpose, I’m convinced.

Reflection

Two weeks ago, I started this and I remember I mentioned my creativity a few times, but it’s really starting to come back. I’m going a bit slow on my writing when I used to crank an easy 2500 words per day out, but what I am putting down feels a lot more like quality that before.

A part of my working toward my success has been building mental and physical routines that aren’t so stoic that I can’t break from them without exploding and going back to the start again. So, the To-Do lists have become my best friend, I mean so much so that I start writing tomorrow’s to-do list while working through today’s.

Though I did sit down and write a whole one sentence and then get distracted by a video of cake. Never write and Facebook, it’s unhealthy, I was only on for five freakin’ seconds and saw this seven-minute video. I signed off right after realizing the trap!

I want to keep writing and get more done, but sleep is really important to having a healthy mind and body.

Going Forward

As I sit here I have a goal list and adding to my goals every day. I realized that I need to organize the way I write on projects and balance all of my projects – okay I realized this because some of my beta-readers are begging for the sequel to my fantasy novel and I only have it outline right now!

I have been talking about working toward success and working toward the better me a lot in the last two weeks and all this time I have been working on who I am and what I am supposed to be doing.

My goals are really set in stone, I want to get an agent, I want to get published, and I want to continue my YouTube Channel and my blog as a way to inspire and help young writers and beginner writers, and even those advanced writers who just need a push along the way.

When I was 11-years-old I knew, I wanted to be a writer. And I won’t give up on that dream, because it will and can be a reality. Whether I finally score that agent on this book or the next, it will happen.

And when this month is over, I am going to continue to post a blog every evening, but it’ll be more focused on subject matter and less on me.

 

Let’s Chat

 

Twitter: @authorsteger

Instagram: @stegerwrites

YouTube Channel: Fantasy & Coffee

Tumblr: Fantasy-N-Coffee

WriterSteger.Wordpress.com

Facebook.com/J.M.Steger015

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I really like this a lot. ❤

    Like

    1. writersteger says:

      ❤ Its actually super cathartic to do these little blogs. 😀 Im glad someone's reading them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please keep writing! ❤❤❤❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

